Healthy cattle equals healthy beef

Quality beef comes from happy, healthy, quality cattle. Quality is purely an outcome of care – raising happy, healthy cattle is the only way to produce top quality beef

In the grain fed beef industry, it is imperative that all livestock are well cared for from the time they arrive at the feedlot to the time they leave. Every aspect of their welfare is planned and monitored by trained staff, including socialising, their health program and diet.

Animal wellbeing is a top priority for Australian Feedlots.

Australian feedlots operate aligned to the globally accepted system of assessing and ensuring animal wellbeing around the world, known as the Five Domains (previously referred to as Five Freedoms).

The Five Domains hold the key to good animal health and they include:

  1. Freedom from hunger and thirst
  2. Freedom from discomfort
  3. Freedom from pain, injury or disease
  4. Freedom to express normal behaviour
  5. Freedom from fear and distress
Five Domains
In 1994, Professor David Mellor and Dr Cam Reid proposed a new model as a means of systematically identifying and grading the severity of different forms of welfare compromise by reformulating the Five Freedoms as ‘Five Domains’ of nutrition, environment, health, behaviour and mental state.

For the Australian grain fed beef industry, animal welfare objectives are underpinned by the National Feedlot Accreditation Scheme (NFAS)

NFAS accredited feedlots are independently audited every year and, to remain accredited, must ensure that the four pillars of Food Safety, Environmental Management, Livestock Management and Product Integrity are all stringently followed. Livestock management is a key measure that ensures livestock are treated with great care at all times during their time in a feedlot.

For more information, visit Caring for Cattle.

Share this post

Scroll to Top